# 2013 CPS Science Fair Students Recognized for Outstanding Accomplishments at June Chicago City Council Meeting

Spearheaded by 5<sup>th</sup> Ward Alderman, Leslie Hairston, CPS Science Fair students were granted the opportunity to be recognized at the June 5, 2013 City Council Meeting for their exceptional achievements throughout the 2012 - 2013 academic year. Aside from being collectively recognized in front of the council, students had their photos taken with Mayor Rahm Emanuel and experienced an actual Chicago City Council meeting.



Above (left to right): Deena Kishawi, Kathrin Kajderowicz, Margaret Scholle, Emily Hayes, Weipeng Zhang, Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Michael Nguyen, Keven Stonewall, Alex Villarreal, Patrice Pirpiris, Deanna Pirpiris

Student attendees and their Science Fair achievements:

#### Illinois Junior Academy of Science (IJAS) - State Winners

### Best in Category Winners

<u>Materials Science</u> – **Margaret Scholle of Franklin Elementary (8<sup>th</sup>Grade)** for her project *Tires in the Windy City – Which One is Best?* 

<u>Biochemistry</u> – Weipeng Zhang of Whitney Young (11<sup>th</sup> Grade) for his project 1D11 Inhibits Prostrate Cancer Migration

## International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) - International Winner

<u>Biochemistry</u> – **Emily Hayes of Payton (12th Grade)** won 4<sup>th</sup> Place Award in Biochemistry for her project *Tributyltin Disrupts Adipocyte Metabolism.* This award includes a \$500 cash award. She also received a Gold at IJAS for her project, as well as received a scholarship from the Takeda Global Research & Development Center, Inc. for \$4,000 awarded at the Student Science Fair, Inc., Scholarship Reception.

#### Science Fair Scholarship Special Recognitions

The following students represented a select group of students who received scholarships which were presented at the CPS Student Science Fair, Inc., Scholarship Reception in May 2013.

**Kathrin Kajderowicz of Lane Tech** will be attending Cornell University this upcoming fall, majoring in Biological Technology. Miss Kajderowicz received the Takeda Global Research & Development Center Inc. scholarship of \$10,000, the largest monetary scholarship awarded this year.

**Deena Kishawi of Whitney Young** will be attending DePaul University this upcoming fall, majoring in Biological Sciences. Miss Kishawi received a DePaul University Tuition Waiver of \$8,000 Yr/ 4-year Renewable. Total tuition waiver of \$32,000.

**Michael Nguyen of the Air Force Academy** will be attending Illinois Institute of Technology this upcoming fall, majoring in Computer Engineering. Mr. Nguyen received the ComEd, An Exelon Co. scholarship of \$3,000.

**Deanna Pirpiris of Taft High School** will be attending Loyola University this upcoming fall, majoring in Physics and Engineering. Miss Pirpiris received a Loyola University Tuition Waiver of \$2,000 which is renewable for 4 years (total tuition waiver \$8,000), as well as the Dolores Rosenbaum Scholarship of \$2,000.

Patrice Pirpiris of Taft High School (and twin sister of Deanna Pirpiris) will also be attending Loyola University this upcoming fall, majoring in Physics and Engineering. Miss Pirpiris also received both a Loyola University Tuition Waiver of \$2,000 which is renewable for 4 years (total tuition waive \$8,000), as well as the Dolores Rosenbaum Scholarship of \$2,000.

**Keven Stonewall of the Chicago High School of Agricultural Sciences** will be attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison this upcoming fall, majoring in Microbiology. Mr. Stonewall received a Takeda Global Research & Development Center, Inc. scholarship of \$3,000.

**Alex Villarreal of the Chicago High School of Agricultural Sciences** will be attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison this upcoming fall, majoring in Agriculture and Microbiology. Mr. Villarreal received a Takeda Global Research & Development Center, Inc. scholarship of \$4,000.



Above (left to right): Alderman Mary O'Connor, Deena Kishawi, Kathrin Kajderowicz, Margaret Scholle, Emily Hayes, Weipeng Zhang, Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Michael Nguyen, Keven Stonewall, Alex Villarreal, Patrice Pirpiris, Deanna Pirpiris, Sylvia Nelson Jordan (Manager, CPS Academic Competitions), Alderman Leslie Hairston.



Above: Anne Marie Sherry (Chairperson, Student Science Fair, Inc., IJAS), Nina Hike-Teague (Chairperson, Student Science Fair, Inc., Symposium & Essay), Ariel Julian (Public Ally/Communications Coordinator, CPS), Paschel Bennett, Coordinator, CPS Academic Competitions), Mayor Rahm Emanuel, Sylvia Nelson Jordan (Manager, CPS Academic Competitions), Luba Johnson (Chairperson, CPS Student Science Fair, Inc.), Alderman Leslie Hairston.